ALGIERS- The government has decided on Monday to extend for an additional period of 15 days the partial lockdown measure in 34 provinces as from December 2nd, said a statement from the Prime Minister’s services. The extension is part of measures to manage and curb the health crisis caused by the Coronavirus (COVID-19).
“In application of the instructions of President Abdelmadjid Tebboune, Supreme Chief of the Armed Forces, Minister of National Defence and following consultations with the scientific committee monitoring the Coronavirus pandemic evolution and the health authority, Prime Minister Abdelaziz Djerad has issued fresh measures as part of the management of the health crisis linked to the Coronavirus pandemic (COVID-19).

These cautious and flexible measures aim to preserve the health of citizens and prevent the spread of coronavirus, and will be adapted to the evolution of the epidemiological situation.

The measure of partial lockdown from 8 P.M. to 5 A.M. concerns 34 provinces: Adrar, Laghouat, Oum El Bouaghi, Batna, Bejaia, Biskra, Blida, Bouira, Tebessa, Tlemcen, Tiaret, Tizi-Ouzou, Algiers, Jijel, Sétif, Guelma, Annaba, Constantine, Médéa, Mostaganem, M’sila, Ouargla, Oran, Illizi, Bordj Bou Arréridj, Boumerdes, El-Tarf,  Tindouf, Tissemsilt, El Oued, Khenchela, Souk Ahras, Tipaza and Ain Temouchent.

14 provinces are excluded from the lockdown measure: Chlef, Béchar, Tamanrasset, Djelfa, Saïda, Skikda, Sidi Bel Abbes, Mascara, El-Bayadh, Mila, Ain-Defla, Naâma, Ghardaia and Relizane.
The Governors may, after approval with the competent authorities take any measures required by the health situation of each province, in particular the establishment, modification or adjustment of schedules, of the partial or total confinement measure in one or more municipalities, localities or neighborhoods experiencing surge of contaminations.

These containment measures are applicable, from Wednesday December 2, 2020, for a period of fifteen (15) days.